Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

FINALLY - some landscaping

Today I put the first coat or layer of landscaping at my Argo Mill corner.  I think I said I used Sculptamold before, but when I got out the stuff it is Gypsolite (from Scenery Express).  I like the texture of the product - rough and lumpy like earth.  But smoothable with a wet putty knife.  And - when you mix in some Elmer's Glue and use three cups to two cups of water, you get a much thicker mixture for making rocks, etc.  

I carved in some rock relief above the retaining walls.  These are not meant to be like rock castings.  They will get earth and growies and trees.  I also put some color in the water so the material was not white.  Helps if there is a chip later.

I did three batches and my back gave out so enough for today.  I got done except for a small space right in the front.  Tomorrow I plan on more in other areas.

The white thin styrofoam pieces are 1/8" thick to raise the buildings up to the right track level. Great product - Midwest Modelers.  Super easy to cut and I just used some spray adhesive and down they went.  I was worried about the water in the scenery material effecting the styrofoam bases but not so far.

Incidentally - the retaining walls are from Chooch. They are really nice models and bendable with a peal and stick adhesive on the back.  Super easy to cut with an exact.  A little black ink wash and they were ready to go.  I did mount them on a piece of 1/8" hardboard because I was not sure the adhesive would stick to the rough cut styrofoam. They come in several scales - these are HO/N.

The areas with no material will be roads. I do have to fill in the hole in between the tracks as I cut away too much styrofoam - got carried away. I plan on cutting a little piece of retaining wall and then fill behind it to hold the road.  Tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.