a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Billy Duffy

Tonight was the first night of the Cult's 2016 tour.  

When I was growing up, (that is to say when I was in my early 20's - I took a while to reach maturity - so we are talking the early '80s) the Cult were such an important band.  So tonight was an important gig... and they really were great.

I've given you a link to Billy and Ian here.   When Ray Manzarek decided to try to reform the Doors and take them on the road in 2002 he chose the Cult's (former at the time) lead singer Ian Astbury for lead vocals in place of the late great Jim Morrison.  These guys therefore have a lot of stage presence and are strangely not as successful as they might deserve to be.  Which is sort of great for us fans that really "get it".

I've deliberately taken this shot to try to abstract Billy and his Gretsch White Falcon.  Possibly mono is a mistake as it renders the image slightly less abstract. I don't know.

I'm just going to go and put their music on the HiFi and turn it up.

Apologies but I am reliving my youth. Long gone now.  I promise to catch up with journals tomorrow :-)

Oops - finally - thank you to my blip friend Robert Ostrochovsky who came up with the concept of Abstract Thursday and who has input an enormous amount of time and effort into keeping it going.  I very much hope to one day  lift a real glass of beer with him in Portland, but for now a virtual glass will have to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.