But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Toy Shop Window

A Year with My Camera tasks this week include a picture with a wide depth of field taken in  dim light on the manual setting. This also fits in with my toy themed collection. It’s a time saving thing that I can kill three birds with one stone by combining the two tasks with my Blip entry with a single photograph. It goes a little further than that in that I took it on the way home from the camera club this evening.
 
At the beginning of the year thing, I realised that I have an issue with depth of field tables in that they tell you which part of the image is sharp, rather than if it is out of focus; there’s a significant difference. To qualify as being sharp with my camera, it seems that the blur has to be no greater than five pixels in diameter; whereas, if you want to throw a background out of focus, you probably want to go 20 times further than that. In the past, I’d always “played about” until it worked, but when it came up as a challenge I sat down and made my own DoF calculator on a spread sheet.
I strongly believe that everyone needs a hobby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.