Good Morning Mr. Cardinal!

Dear Diary,

Just what I needed after days of clouds and grey weather, a bright spot of red in the crab apple tree!  The Mrs. was probably nearby checking out possible nesting sites.  Today promises to be sunny for a change and we could all use a break from the snow/ice/rain.  It is back to more seasonal temperatures today but the roller coaster ride continues with some days in the coming week in the 20's and some in the 40's.

I have been enjoying re-reading Ink and Honey by Sybil Dana Reynolds and I found a passage that really resonated with me.  Talking to the scribe Goscelin, Petronilla says, "It is important for you to choose and record the stories...Your record is not for us.  Rather, it is intended to quicken the hearts and souls of others whom we will never know."  


I think that is what we all are attempting to do with our "illustrated manuscripts", record our days, reveal our thoughts and reflect on the moments of common enchantment that we witness.  I've often wondered what someone, perhaps a hundred years hence, will make of my journal...what will they draw from all the words and pictures?  I hope they take away something I learned a long time ago,


"The meaning of life is to see."  - Hui Neng

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.