DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Home alone?

Almost!

We really didn't want to get up this morning, but figured it would be a waste to miss our flight to New York!

Our experience with American Airlines was a much more positive one than last time. Although the inflight entertainment was as dire, the cabin crew were much nicer than the last time; one stewardess even offered me her own (half eaten) chocolate bar when I asked for chocolate for Mr A.

The flight itself wasn't full so we had 3 seats to ourselves after Mr A worried he might get a plus size sitting next to him.

We arrived at JFK ahead of schedule which was a bonus and having been before, knew just where to get the shuttle bus to our hotel.

The only obstacle was passport control at JFK.
My passport expires in May, but according to the Direct.Gov website, the US is one of the few countries that will accept a passport so long as its validity covers your stay.
Wrong.

The machine wouldn't accept my passport so I had to see a customs officer who told me I needed 6 months clear on my passport to travel.

I explained about the uk government website advice but he said it was wrong.
Forget butterflies in my stomach, I had the whole New York Zoo doing somersaults in there!!!

Luckily, he said exceptions could be made, so he let me through.

Little did I know when I planned this blip earlier in the week, how apt the title would be. We debated all the way to Manhattan what we would have done if I'd have been refused entry. It doesn't bear thinking about, so take heed fellow travellers, don't always believe the things you read on the Internet :-0

This had to be done sooner rather than later to give me time to post it before midnight struck in the UK we are 5 hours behind

Also on the agenda for today was a visit to Grand Central Station which we both regretted not having the time to see last time round. It was great to see the magnificence of the architecture; it's a huge place.

This evening we are going to see a Star Wars exhibition, which is on at Times Square, and features over 70 original costumes from all 7 movies. I debated using something from this as my blip, but I daren't risk trying to sneak myself into an outfit or I might just be sent home alone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.