Du vin, du pain ... and lemons

Since last year we have a speciality food hall near us, a combination of shops/stalls of a green grocer, a bakery, a cheese shop, a butcher, a fishmonger, a wineshop and a florist , all together in an ancient farm building. Everything is super fresh and very tasty, but it is also a bit pricey. They however are open on Sundays while the regular supermarkets here are not so I went there today to get something nice for our dinner tonight.

I saw these enormous Italian lemons complete with leaves and was sold, no idea what I'll do with them, but lemons are always good as natural condiments. Their bread is very rustic looking and nice and I decided they were good for a foodie still life. Obviously wine was the missing ingredient and I guess I could have added some cheese too ;-)

In other news I'm going to try making the suet dumplings tomorrow, as I got some suet from the butcher (for free!!)

Thanks so much for your views, comments, stars and faves for yesterday's robin Blip, I've just seen he ended up on page 5 of the Popular pages :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.