The Beach was Empty

6.4C grey and dull. One shower. SW wind to 25 mph with gusts to 36 mph. Rain forecast.

This morning I brought more boxes of books down from the loft. I also found a box or two of things we must have put up there because we couldn't think what to do with them. They went to the dump this time. We hope to sort through the books tonight and perhaps take some to a charity shop tomorrow. I think one more load of boxes after this lot are sorted and the books will be done and the loft more or less sorted out. I will line up the boxes of books in the loft ready to come down before we move house.

Maeve and I went for a walk after lunch. Runrig on the Nano (The Story). We went up to the church then continued out along the country road to Scryne. We turned right at Craigmill farm and went down the track to the shore road. The track was still dry today. No sign of tractors in the fields nearby today.

We walked along the cycle path to Westhaven and went over the road bridge over the railway and down to the beach. The tide was coming in. The beach was empty. As we stood and looked out to sea I took the Nano from my pocket and started The Story for the second time.

I summarised an article I found online:
"The Story is an outstanding album of raw beauty, both celebratory and nostalgic, with a sound palette that ranges from the contemporary, to some of the sonic milestones that are so ubiquitous to Runrig’s past. This is a hugely significant album for the band. It’s an album that wears its heart firmly on its sleeve.

The title track, The Story, is a powerful uplifting presentation of one man’s relationship with his culture and with his past, and the hold these memories still have over his life and the stories inside all of us. Sung by Rory, it starts off in Gaelic, before bursting into an upbeat chorus in English and then into an euphoric almost dance beat instrumental with Runrig's trade mark soaring guitars and keyboards, and of course thought provoking lyrics which really do tell a story."

And I´m still dreaming of the Hebrides
And I´m still leaning on the early years
And I can´t help feeling it will always be
The story of the life inside of me.
(C MacDonald/R MacDonald)

We crossed back over the road bridge and carried on round in a loop heading into Carnoustie and up the main road before turning along for home. All the while dreaming ...

E-PL5 f/5 1/125 sec. ISO-200 14mm

P.S. ... we are not moving to an island

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.