Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hospital Day One

It's 6pm, and I'm just beginning to get the feeling back in my legs. Ate nothing all day, and was so looking forward to my tea. This was it. And as you can see, Jamie Oliver hasn't really had an effect on the NHS menu in these parts.

A four hour wait before surgery. But luckily, I was with my farmer pal from the pre-admission session a few weeks ago, so the time passed less painfully than what might have been. I had a MASSIVE felt-penned arrow on the correct leg - that made me giggle. Half hour surgery, with almost immediate recovery. The last thing I remember was being wheeled in to theatre, and the nice Kiwi doctor saying she'd just give me a wee gin and tonic to relax me... In fact, when I awoke and they said it was all over, I could only exclaim, 'You're kidding!'

I'm in a ward with three other women, and I'm the least ill person by a mile. The wee old lady opposite, Winnie, though nobody's quite sure what's wrong (I think she just can't be sent home) has to be kept an eye on. Last night I thought she was being helpful - she came over and was tidying my table, fixing my blankets, checking my water. Then she flipped open the top of the jug and said, 'I'll just put my dentures in here...' I quickly pointed out her own water jug. Later on, in the dark, I felt someone bump my bed. It was Winnie again, trying to take my jacket and my dressing gown. It's not boring!

Can't wait to see what wonderful effect the op has had on my sore knee. I've been told I'm in for the weekend. Wonder how long Winnie's in for...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.