Good Morning Calstock!

As it was a frosty start to the day thought I'd stop on the way to the girls to see what Calstock looked like. I love the long shadows the bridge throws onto the field, I love the triangular shapes of the fields,the huge trees dividing the  cows fields  and the groups of trees on the horizon. I love my village and my life! 
Onto the girls and loading the final 2 bags of feed into the wheelbarrow and pushing them up the thankfully more compact and less slippery path. I found poor Dotty feeling very sorry for herself, she drank but would not eat and promptly flew up onto the wheelbarrow and sat there. I cleaned the coop and set a fire going in the incinerator, and still she sat there.  The other girls were squabbling amongst themselves, making sure of their and everyone else's place in the pecking order, but they left Dotty alone on her wheelbarrow throne, several looked at her with interest but none dared to join her! I picked her up and gave her a cuddle and a stoke and she fell asleep in my arms -I nearly took her home then and there. But she has defied my expectations on other occasions so decided to leave her - maybe as the oldest lady she just needs a little more time to get herself going in the morning. On the path back to the car I decided to tackle the brambles again, on the other side this time. It's like the veritable bramble forest that grew around Sleeping Beauty - allegedly! Sadly nothing hidden amongst the brambles but stuff the owners son has dumped there - plastic bags of rubble! When the allotment first started the field was worked, but with no fencing the deer kept eating the crops, and then the guy who worked it split with the sister of said dumping guy so was off anyway! Now you can't even see the field for the dense network of brambles. It's very satisfying to prune and stamp the old dead branches down, they give a satisfying crack  - although I was wary of  long stems of deadly thorns being flung into my face as I stamped! Luckily I got away with only one scratch!
Home in a right old sweat - I'd taken off 3 upper layers on the allotment whilst cleaning and fire starting, but had put them back on and really needn't have bothered! As the day went on I got chilled in my warm kitchen through too much sitting at the laptop! I felt like an overworked stripper - constantly putting clothes on and then off, and then on again!!!
Much to my amusement I have found I am drinking more now I am cooking delicious meals courtesy of my HelloFresh food box. Good food seems to invite a good drink  to accompany it! A microwaved ready meal doesn't proffer the same invitation! 
So to bed - no news from the coop member I asked to check on Dotty when closing - hopefully I will hear nothing tomorrow morning either when she opens! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.