Red Faced Batwing

What a beauty to discover in the Aquarium when I was getting locusts for Gunther and plants for my fish! Sadly this fish only has this colouring as a juvenile, and turns a silvery grey as can be seen by the patch in the centre of it's body as it matures. More here!
Breakthrough in my drawing class! I think I might have found my medium - Pen and Ink!!! To be exact a bamboo skewer and ink!! I love pen and Ink drawings and own several, one of which is of my chickens drawn by our teacher who also has a plot on the allotment!  Well tonight we were given a pack of pens and shown the different techniques - Hatching -parrallel lines, Cross Hatching - criss-crossing lines, Contour Hatching - curving lines, Stippling - multiple dots and finally Scumbling - tiny scribbly, squiggly marks! Having practised the various techniques we then had to draw a still life of 3 bottles and use them! I actually drew my bottles on their block in some recognisable fashion and then started shading and contouring with the various techniques. Then with the skewer and drawing ink we did feathers and dried flowers - oh my! It's just so easy and flowing and more interpretative. I am more of an interpretative dancer so maybe I'm an interpretative artist! The whole session was enjoyable, full of laughs and I came home with 4 Art books from a load someone had given to the gallery and they wanted shot of!  I was pretty red faced with joy by the end of the evening! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.