The new canal swing bridge at Lodgemore

I drove down Lodgemore Lane this morning to get across the canal to Fromehall Mill, which lies over the River Frome to the west of Stroud town centre.  As I crossed the bridge I disrupted some volunteers who have been extremely important in helping to implement the improvements to the Stroudwater Canal. 

After crossing the canal I turned to the right  between various warehouse building s and some small houses built t-for canal workers in the 19th century.  I blipped one part of Fromehall Mill a couple of days ago.  Today I was visiting a multimedia company, whose boss had very kindly offered to loan some video lighting equipment. We are using it to help create a window display in the town council offices promoting the Stroud Film Festival which starts on Friday.

After picking up the lights and standss I parked near the bridge and thought I would record the newly installed swing bridge which replaces the old fixed bridge.  Now that boats are going to use the canal again it needed to open whilst also allowing large heavy lorries to cross the canal.  This one off design allows boat users to raise the bridge using a hand pump.  The volunteers were finishing up the works with a fence that would stop people driving or falling in to the canal.   

We installed the display at lunchtime and I'm very pleased with it and i expect it will be blipped in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.