Tornado - 60163 - powers through Stroud station

NB: I have now swapped the first 'Extra photo' with my original blip of Stroud station, as most people seemed to prefer it.

I've known that Tornado, the recently built steam engine numbered 60163, was heading a steam train tour from Paddington to Cardiff today and I hoped to see it en route for the Severn Tunnel. It was on a circular route with the return journey following the Severn valley northwards to Gloucester, before crossing the river and turning to head east up the Golden Valley through Stroud, and on to Swindon and London.

I knew that it would reach Stroud at sunset and the weather forecast was poor, with rain and very overcast sky. So I decided to head about twenty miles south to see it on its outward journey. Incredibish and I pondered meeting to watch it together, possibly at Pilning near the tunnel, but I decided to watch it further east. I used Google maps and street view to find a location and headed there near Wootton Bassett, arriving a little early at 11-30am. It would have been a good choice except for the fact that since Google photographed the local area, Network Rail have started to install overhead electric gantries, so the wide open vista with the train running along an embankment was rather spoilt. Incredibish got a good but very different shot at Pilning.

Rain was forecast to arrive and duly did, but the train itself was running about forty-five minutes late. At the last minute with the sky darkening I changed lenses and didn't take test shots, so that I'm rather disappointed with the exposure. I've added one of the views to the extras.

My journey was wonderful as I took single track roads a lot of the way back to Wotton-under-Edge, where I had to deliver some Festival programmes to the local cinema. But I was reminded how much there is to explore in the countryside near to us. I stopped several times to grab pictures of odd places.

When I got home, I had tea and a relaxing couple of hours before heading to Stroud station to watch Tornado on its return journey. It was expected at 17-50 which was the exact time of sunset today. The weather hadn't improved but the light was very poor. There were several hundred people gathered on the two platforms, with many excited young children. But there was another delay of forth-five minutes which meant that there was no daylight at all when it finally passed. I chose the platform beside which the train would pass, and hoped for the best.

I think it must have been the fastest train I've ever seen in Stroud, probably at 50 mph, as there are only stopping trains normally, except for freight trains. It felt and smelt amazing to be so close to the engine at high speed. I decided to blip this shot but wasn't really sure which to choose. I just like it.  I've put another taken a fraction of a second earlier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.