Male bullfinch on the hanging tray in the snow

I haven't moved far since yesterday's blip. In fact I have only been outside to fill the bird feeders, but have done that many times. They are hungry and cold.

Early this morning there was more snow lying than yesterday when I went outside. I added more suet pellets to the tray hanging from the trellis outside the patio door, rather than the sunflowers, as they seem to be preferred at the moment. It must be the fat content.

I changed my lens from the big zoom I'd used yesterday, to a macro lens. I didn't open the door however so this image is shot through two panes of the double-glazed door. There were two male bullfinches feeding earlier, but this one amused me with its mouth full of squashed food, which is very typical of the way they feed. Most of the birds dash in, grab a seed or pellet and fly away to the nearby tree. The bullfinches just stand there stuffing themselves for as long as they can. Few other birds disturb them; probably only nuthatches and woodpeckers can move them on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.