ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Mirror.

Another long lie - A and F were up long before me! After a breakfast just as messy as yesterday's (blueberry porridge, F somehow managing to filter out the tiny chunks of blueberry onto his shoulder, hands and chair) we got ready and headed out to Crathes Castle. The weather was hardly inspiring but at least mainly dry, but we were appalled to see the price list for walking around the castle, and equally appalled at the price to walk round the gardens. Even the National-Trust employee in the booth was distinctly unimpressed, and assured us that the walks in the wood behind the castle were just as lovely as the gardens and completely free. We took his advice and had a wander in a dripping wet wood, while Baby F gazed at all the treetops above his buggy hood.

Lunch was one of Baby F's first al fresco dining experiences, and he did very well - I, on the other hand, managed to get orange goo in his hair.

After a last wander, we headed across to Milton of Crathes, one of mine and A's favourite places for coffee and eats, and had a drink while I waited on the bus. Unfortunately I felt quite unwell (which may or may not be related to a large funny-looking insect bite on my ankle... I'm inclined to think I'm being paranoid, but it's enough to concern me a little), so I couldn't face the coach home. I got a taxi to Culter instead and then a bus (much less sick-inducing than a coach).

When I got home I felt better, and made myself a slightly odd version of cottage pie - I forgot there was no need for tomatoes in the meat mix and essentially made bolognaise sauce with mashed potato on top. I decided to just go the whole hog and add a cheesy crust too - what comfort food! An evening totally consumed in catching up on Blips and watching the new Wallander. What a lazy, lovely weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.