ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Welcome Home.

Off on my secondment today; a bit of a wrench to leave my office when I'd got such a good start on my report yesterday, but plenty to do on secondment too. The sea haar is HEAVY today; everything obscured, no chance of going out without getting wet (and a brolly is no use, it just swirls under and collects as a little cloud above your head). Lunchtime was busy - keys cut, watch fixed, a 'well done' card bought for M along with some Balvenie.

After work, M picked me up and took me to do a 'big shop'. What a star - he HATES food shopping, but he knows how difficult it is for me while he's away offshore and I have no access to the car. We picked up a massive amount of food - the fridge will resemble a sardine tin - and M made us a beautiful chicken curry for tea. He just makes up the recipe himself and they're always amazing. We ate far too much food, then M had to pack up his bag for offshore tomorrow. An early-morning check-in for him, and then the beginning of his last 3-weeker! So, so excited. It'll be hard to have him away again for 3 weeks after spending the last 2 joined at the hip on holiday, but knowing it's the last time is a huge help. After then he'll have his regular 3 weeks off, followed by 2-3 weeks of being 'on call' for any complicated jobs that he may have to help with; although those trips should only last a couple of days. September 1st is the start of his onshore job. I'm very proud of him, no one deserves it more. This is where his hard work all begins to pay off :)

This was our welcome party when we came home on Sunday... There's nothing better than your own bed after a holiday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.