snailspace

By snailspace

Ghost

"May you live in interesting times" - the old Chinese curse seems to have been applied to my life and Blipfoto is suffering because of that (as is much else) My apologies.

Today I do have a blip as I have been taking photos of some of the house clearance items that I have for sale. Today I am starting to catalogue my china coffee can/cup/demi tasse collection.

This is one of my favourites. It was sold to me as Satsuma ware and the cartouche mark on does suggest that, though I am as yet unable to match the mark. What is obvious is that it is a Lithophane, with the "Ghost Geisha" in relief on the bottom of the cup - when the light shines through you can clearly see the Geisha in almost photographic detail. Endlessly fascinating but not the only reason that I love this set. It is porcelain as fine as an egg shell, weighs practically nothing and feels as though a whisper might break it.

My collection has been boxed for many years as it is wholly cat-incompatible. I am sad to be parting with it but overall, I would far rather have had Teddy than a china collection, bless his clumsy little paws.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.