One of many

We had to go to Duncan, city of Totems, today for G's  follow-up appointment with the optometrist.   I wandered around the familiar streets and took a few shots.  I commuted to Duncan for many years and often admired the many totems that are around town.  I really like this one, and here's a link to some information about it and the carver.  People can go on a self-guided walking tour of the totems by following the yellow footsteps that are painted on the sidewalks.  I couldn't find any information about the totem on a plaque or near it, so I googled it.  Duncan is in Cowichan territory and the university campus where I worked was on reserve. Unfortunately the new campus that opened in 2011 is not on reserve.
Information on the sign beside the totom , dated June 26, 1999, states:
"The Duncan Business Improvement Area Society dedicates this mural to anyone who has ever stepped into the forest to gather their thoughts, reflect upon the day's accomplishments, and plan those still to come."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.