creative lenna

By creativelenna

It's because of the sandhill cranes . . .

It's because of the sandhill cranes . . . that I had to post to blipfoto again. :0) The cranes have been visiting nearby, just across the canal from us, and I got some photos yesterday. They were feeding, perhaps on bugs in the grass. Also digging in my neighbors gardens (above) -what will they say?! I don't think they were home when this was going on. In fact, it almost looks like the sandhills are going to have a seat at their outdoor table, oh my! 

As you can see, sandhill cranes are quite tall, about 4 feet. You can read more about them here and also here... I have added 3 extra photos so you can see their relative size. I was alerted to their presence because they make a rather distinctive call, some describe it as trumpet like. One of the three cranes was larger than the other two, most likely a male.  

I have taken photos of sandhill cranes and shared them here on blip on May 27th, 2015 and also on September 9, 2011. I'd never seen them before moving to Florida in 2009. They are quite impressive.

So! I just could not resist adding these photos. It's been 3 months since I've added a blip and I must say I really needed a break. Things seemed to have settled down here too. I was quite concerned for some time that blipfoto was not going to make it. Wow! I am certainly glad it has. Also impressive!!  

We shall see what happens with me, as time goes on. I am definitely not planning on returning to a daily commitment at this time, but I obviously still like being involved. I know some of you have even heard from me as I've visited a few journals even though I have not been posting. Anyway, hello! Hi! Glad to be here still! :o) Lenna 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.