Water Over the Spillway

“Eventually, all things merge into one, and a river runs through it."
- Norman Maclean. 

The temperature was just 18 degrees F when I was out and about with my camera, stalking the ice formations along Spring Creek. I inched out onto a little cement wall along the edge to get a better view of the spillway, and I became almost hypnotized by the patterns and shapes I found there.

Sometimes the water flowed in neat, orderly lines, like this, looking like the beautiful long straight hair of a girl. Other times, shapes that looked like faces emerged and disappeared, their lips forming words that would never be spoken. Water droplets fell, and bounced, and tried in vain to return from whence they came. (No no, dear crystal clear water droplet; you cannot go upstream again!)

The soundtrack: Andy Gibb, with Flowing Rivers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.