Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Fieldside II

Another fieldside which I found getting lost looking for something else entirely. Driving a long long lane I've never been down before. And, yes, the field in the foreground is of poppies again - not the same poppies that I blipped before, but a much bigger set-up altogether - acres and acres and hillsides of poppies, in one direction as far as the eye could see (and that was pretty far!). This perspective has some barley in the distance.

It possibly wasn't the day for landscapes as such, too much cloud and not enough light to show up the contours, but I find something rather magic about those sombre clouds lowering over the exuberant life beneath. If you think you see tiny bits of scarlet, yes, there are a few wild poppies growing amongst the pink ones, together with the purple stuff (knapweed), the tall umbellifers and the yellow straggles of what I think is St John's wort (open to suggestions, as always). I even rather liked the rusted barbed wire, though it looks to me more rural Devon than rich Hampshire.

Nice on large if you can be bothered

Hope you're all having a great weekend. Tonight I'm going to treat myself to Henry IV on BBC2 - it's the first chance I've had to see one of the current TV Shakespeares and I'm so looking forward to it - glass of wine, nice supper, chill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.