Lost in the Music

Goosebumps appeared on my arms and I held my breath as the hypnotic sound of four electronic violins playing the opening bars to Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings filled the Lost Theatre in London this evening.

Invited to attend a rare London gig by the talented Stringfever, my friend Emma and I were enchanted by their performance as were the many friends and family in the audience.

I discovered Stringfever last autumn when my former colleague and friend John Rigby, conductor of the Leeds Castle Classical Concert recommended them when I had the need for a 'funky string quartet' for a client event. See my blip from November here.

An Englishman called David Bruce Johnson designed the wooden electric instruments which are called Violectras. Stringfever perform partly classical, partly rock n roll music in an eclectic style, mixed with an equal balance of talent and humour and a considerable amount of eyebrow expressionism!

After starting their career busking around Europe the three brothers Giles, Ralph and Neal joined by cousin Graham have been performing professionally for 15 years and next week embark on their seventh US tour! They've appeared on the Graham Norton Show and The One Show and regularly perform for corporate and private events.

To top off the showbiz flair tonight the guys pulled off the rock n roll look in funky silver suits and had us all amazed at their four players on one cello act...comical yet musical genius!

I'm totally smitten with the Stringfever boys and hope I find an excuse to book them for an event again soon. It's okay for a PR gal to fall in love with musicians right?

If you'd like to see a couple of videos from tonight check them out here:

Stringfever play Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker

Stringfever play the history of music

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.