a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Nest building time

It is most definitely Spring (despite the weather), or at least the pair of Dunnocks that frequent our garden seem to thing so.  One of them (and I'm guessing that it is the female) has been racing around collecting feathers for a few days now.   

I've seen them before and had at first assumed that they were some sort of sparrow, they are very shy and normally stay close to the base of the shrubs and bushes, so its hard to get a good look at them.  However, this one seems a bit braver at the moment, possibly because she needs to venture out to gather materials for the nest.  As a result I was very lucky indeed as she got really quite close to me this afternoon, as you can see.

Close up, she has really quite beautiful markings, but further away she looks greyish brown and easily blends in with the shadows under the bushes.

I was quite pleased with the quality of this shot, all things considered, particularly when you realise that its ISO4000.  Cameras have definitely improved!

Its Mother's Day today of course.  Cathy was a little disappointed first thing when I had to announce this morning that no cards had arrived for her yesterday.  As the children are now 23 and 27 I don't think it is really appropriate for me to remind them anymore, although I had been vaguely feeling all week that it might have been sensible for me to do so.  I needn't have worried, as fortunately they have both now been in touch and all is well.  

Phew!

Later:
I've just realised that my abstract shot from Thursday has made it to the first of the popular pages, which has definitely put a smile on my face.  Many thanks to all those of you who kindly awarded stars and hearts, I've tried to thank you all individually, but please accept my apologies if I've missed anyone out. I really don't know how those that make the top of the popular pages regularly possibly manage to find the time to deal with all the comments etc. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.