Skip's Blips

By Skip

Long time, no see!

It's been a long time since I saw a pileated woodpecker along the trail, although I knew they were there. A few days ago, I spotted one way up in the top of a tall tree in the bog and managed to get a few less than stellar shots of him against the overcast sky. You can see him in the extra photo. Today, near the end of my trail walk, I heard another one. Scanning the tree tops, I located him (or her, I'm not sure which) in the top of a distant tree and managed a few shots before he flew away. Elusive birds to say the least!

The other extra is my friend Kathy. I was walking with her right before I spotted the pileated woodpecker. Sorry to say, she missed the photo opp because we had just said goodbye and headed back to our cars on opposite sides of the park when I took his photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.