Pelican Power

Just as I was ready to leave the boat docks, the Pelican Lady showed up. She was searching for hurt birds, and she found one right away. A bird with a fishing hook stuck in its mouth pouch. The problem? While she was trying to net the hooked one, the others were helping themselves to the bait bucket.

And then...and then...SHE FINALLY LET ME HELP!!! After 3 years of asking...SHE FINALLY LET ME HELP!!

I grabbed the bait bucket while she grabbed the hurt bird, and followed her to her car to get her tools. While I was walking a pelican came over my right shoulder, and "beaked" me in the shoulder. I covered the top of the bucket. She fixed the bird, and we headed back to the docks as the rest of the group spotted us. I was "winged" in the arms and the legs. As the kids say..."It was like...AWESOME!!"

She opened up after I offered to send her some pictures that I had taken of her over the years. Come to find out, her name is Beth.

What an amazing woman. To put herself in the middle of these spectacular birds in search of the injured ones...what a thrill to witness.

Thanks so much for all the nice words sent in my direction on my 5th blip birthday. Very kind.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/124969130@N06/albums/72157665369276642 Check out Beth, the pelican lady, on my Flickr page...along with some other posers. (It was a good afternoon.)

After finishing this, I'm going to send Beth the pictures. Now that she knows that I am a man that is unafraid to walk among the giant-beaked birds...I hope that she will enlist my help in the future.

Who knows (sigh)...in my dreams (sigh)...I could become The Pelican Whisperer (sigh.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.