London Transport Museum, Covent Garden

We took Doreen' Susan's mum out for Mothers Day to the London Transport Museum. I can't say it was the most enjoyable of times. With my interests I was expecting to thoroughly enjoy the day but a combination of the journey, the busyness of the place and organisation of the museum this didn't happen.

The journey from Kent to Central London was one of the worst I've ever experienced. Took over 2 hours instead of the expected hour and 10 minutes. Whichever route I took was fraught with traffic or had diversions owing to roadworks and blocked roads. It was a Sunday, of course, so there is no congestion charge and parking is more relaxed, all contributing to the general mayhem.

We were lucky to find a disabled parking space a few hundred yards from the musuem and wheel Doreen to the entrance. We were also fortunate to find a table for a spot of lunch at the cafe inside, which was very small for the number of people who visit the museum.

The tour I found was very disjointed. Granted there were numbered areas but I felt that it was difficult to know which which way around you should go keeping to the chronological order. We all found ourselves doing the Underground section back to front for instance. Being a Sunday it was very busy too, with lots of little children running around with their attendant shreiks and screams. I trod on one accidentally as he dodged around me as I was going through a door.

The journey back was a little better and we were fortunate to avoid going the A2 route as there was an accident eastbound just after the M25. That would have been the straw that broke the camel's back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.