Alternative Mothers' Day!

I took Friend and Colourful Mai to The Garden House in Buckland Monachorum for Afternoon Tea! All  our mothers are no longer with us and their children couldn't be with them so I spoilt them instead! The Garden House is just delightful no matter what the season and there were hellebore, Daffodil, Narcissi, Scilla, Magnolia, Rhodedendron,  Daphne and to my absolute delight Witch Hazel in flower! I have been admiring them on blip and was told by Freyjad that the reason I had not spotted any in my area was because they are rare - well I found two! Apparently the redder the variety the less its' scent. I asked if they were selling any and they weren't - but she said she could get me one! So now I am awaiting a call to tell me which type is available!!
Our afternoon tea was fabulous! Sandwiches, scone and clotted cream, fruit, 4 different types of cake, Macaroons and Ice-cream in a Brandy Shell! We were happy ladies who scoffed nearly the lot!  I dislike Almond essence so left the Macaroons and Bakewell tart, Friend was defeated by the Scone and Colourful Mai the Apple Strudel! I pinched clean napkins from the other tables and they were taken home! Both of them were heading for a lie down, but as I had chicken duty I pottered for an hour until it was time to go. The birds were singing their goodnight to the day and the church was ringing its' bells for evening service. By the time I left the plot there was not a sound, a pure depth of silence and stillness that was quite profound. If one of the allotment cats had not greeted me on its'walk up to the plot, I would have felt myself to be the only thing alive! 
If you fancy a wander through the Garden then look here - you might even see a madchickenwoman doing the Highland Fling!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.