Design Fault

Woe betide me for daring to say that the #fujifilm x-t1 has a design fault, but I must mention a feature that has almost caused me to lose a camera four times.

It's the strap clip that passes through the eyelet, which is intended to hold the strap supplied with the camera.

It's flimsy and it's far too easy for the strap to slip round the clip. The camera straps supplied with the camera simply came loose and slipped off the clip. I was lucky to realise that I was losing the camera.

I changed to Peak Design straps which are far more substantial; almost overkill for the camera, but not when it has a heavy, expensive lens on it.

To my consternation, the cord on the attachment to the strap also slipped off the clip once and on a second occasion, the end of the clip penetrated the cord causing it to fray. I didn't want to use the plate that screws into the tripod hole as I use the tripod frequently and didn't want to be constantly screwing and unscrewing the plate.

In the end, Len came to my rescue. He found two thick key rings which he passed through each of the eyelets instead of the supplied strap clips. The Peak Design strap attachments are easily secured to these rings. What is more, they don't spin and twist round themselves, which is what was happening with the supplied strap clips.

I now look forward to using a securely strapped camera. Thank you very much Len.

I really need to blow all the skin cells off the camera, particularly around the eyepiece.

Bright sunshine for much of the day. Basil and I went to the blacksmith's at Dishley, to order a replica of a key to an old lock that I use on a box in Morocco. He said he could do it.

And in the evening, the 3-way image matching 'fun battle' between Coalville, Shepshed and Ashby camera clubs. Shepshed came a close second to Ashby.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.