Late night blip

I've missed some good photo opportunities again today - I really must learn to leave myself enough time to stop and shoot.

First thing, we had a significant covering of snow, but en route to work, I hadn't left enough time to risk a stop.  Then the snow melted, and we've had intermittent showers.

I had to do some shopping for dad after work.  Last time I visited, his fridge was almost empty.  He hasn't been going out much recently, partly because of the weather, but also because he has been lethargic, and has spent large parts of the day in bed.  I tried to phone him before doing the shopping, but couldn't get through.  So in the end, I just bought some ready meals and other stuff for the freezer.  Just as well, really.  I arrived at his flat, to find he has suddenly rediscovered his mojo, and has been out several times over the last few days on his "buggy" - as he calls his mobility scooter.  The problem is, he never has used a list, so there is no hope of getting him to do so now, but he forgets what he is meant to be buying.  His fridge this evening was full of stuff - I fear significant amounts of it will be wasted, as they are not used before their best before dates.    

I recall, back when we were kids, and supermarkets were a new phenomenon, he would do a shop for mum once a week.  She would mention one week that she needed a particular item, and he would bring some of that item every week till the cupboards were bulging, and mum had to beg him to stop.  He seems to have been doing the same thing with the little mini bottles of wine over the last week.  He buys these 4 for 3, so he always buys 4 or 8 at a time - but today the carer (who was there to cook him a meal) and I counted 28 of them in dad's kitchen.  He drinks no more than one a day, so these will last the rest of the month.  I put most of them in a cupboard, and tried to get dad to remember that he doesn't need any more of them!  After I'd put them away, I thought they would have made an interesting blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.