Not so Tiny Chicken

This Silkie Frizzle hybrid chicken is all grown up and happily residing in the Wildlife pens at Leeds Castle with a brood of mixed breed farmyard chickens all looking very fluffy and healthy.

You may remember I blipped about this unusually spikey feathered chick on 12th January when I saw the baby chicks and ducks in the Wildlife Warden's office.

Nicknamed by deputy falconer Hannah as 'Freddie Frizzle' this cheeky chicken warmed my heart this afternoon as it clucked away. My pal James the Wildlife Warden rushed about herding the chickens and I - sort of - helped but mainly took photos and asked lots of questions.

I'm never happier than when in the fresh air around animals and it was a welcome break from looking at the computer screen. Down on the Cascade Water I caught sight of the Black Swan cygnet that was born in November swimming with its dad. It's now a 'teenager' and its feathers are starting to turn black.

Freddie Frizzle is not so tiny anymore so not really suitable as a 'Tiny Tuesday' Blip but such a cute scruffy little urchin deserved to make my blog today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.