The Norwich Hippodrome

At lunchtime today I took a walk up St Giles Street and on to Upper St Giles Street, where I was quite excited to find multiple Yards and Courts which I will blip on a future date.

Part way up, on the right hand side, I passed the site of The Norwich Hippodrome - possibly the single most important building in my family history, and without which I and my family would not exist! Dramatic, I know. However, it was in a queue outside the Hippodrome, sometime shortly after WW1, where my nanna (from Norwich) met my grandfather (from Barnet)...& the rest, as they say, is history!

Sadly, the Hippodrome closed in 1960, and ironically, was demolished in 1966...the year I was born. Just coincidence. But in it's 57 year existence, it played host to some top stars...Cary Grant, Laurel & Hardy, Max Miller....Hughie Green(!)

I wish I could have seen it. I also wish my nanna was here now to talk to. She would love it that I'm now in Norwich, after a North London upbringing. Who would have thought it - certainly I didn't see it coming!

I ended the day with Henry at the opening night of the Cromer Academy performance of Bugsy Malone. A great evening, which many of Henry's friends took part in. Not his thing though - I can sympathise with that. We enjoyed watching, plus a bonus, we won a big box of chocolates in the raffle. I guess that is the silver lining around today's cloud.

Off to bed now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.