A sprinkling of snow in spring

This morning we woke to barely a covering of light snow, which had fallen over night.

As I drove into work it continued to snow, getting quite blizzard-like by 10 o'clock.

Then it stopped. They day progressed with a bit of bright sunshine, some rain and even hail. Four seasons in one day!

Managed to get on with work & left at 5. As I turned in to the lane which runs to our house,which has fields either side, and uneven hedge interspersed with empty verge, a barn owl joined me. I slowed right down (there is rarely any other traffic) and followed it, as it scoured the verge for it's dinner. It swooped up and down, twice landing. I stopped and started; it seemed oblivious to me being there. I wish I could have photographed it for you, but you can't capture that feeling of it just being me & him in the wild in a photo.

That is why I like living here, and tonight the owl gave me a gentle reminder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.