Surprise seal

After yesterday's continuous heavy rain, which caused quite a bit of surface water flooding on the roads between Peterborough and Stamford, today was much drier. But all that precipitation has now reached the rivers, running thick and brown like gravy. 

The lower Nene has burst its banks and caused the deepest flooding since the terrible winter of 2012/13. That winter a common seal came up river and spent a month in and around the Rowing Lake. Today I was amazed to see another common seal, busy catching fish at the end of the backwater. Unfortunately at that moment I didn't have my serious camera with me, and by the time I'd been home to collect it, the seal had moved further away. This is a quickly snatched shot before it disappeared entirely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.