WHTE EGRET IN FLIGHT

We stood on the bridge over the Weser, I saw the White Egret standing there, but already planning for a flight. When she  will come in our direction, I'll better be prepared, I thought. And yes, she did and I followed the beautiful, majectic bird with my camera. Right over our head she went.
She followed the river, and another one, that had stood also on the shore, flew behind her, but could not catch up and returned to where he has since weeks a fine fishing place. The one that I had captured disappeared after the bending of the river.
This day the weather was fine, I sat on the balcony in the morning.
This will be our resting day, but after lunch I suggested to walk to the sheep in the meadow at the other side of the river. Not really far away, but still we came home two hours  later.
I add an extra of the Egret.

My haiku:

Up and down, the wings
Go up and down gracefully
In a slow, clear rhythm

And the proverb:

A gosling flew over the Rhine, and came back as a goose.

1929  Dean Inge, Assessments 220.

A german proverb, meaning, Leisure is necessary for wisdom; and the faster we travel, the less Leisure we have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.