Oil Change Please!

A successful day working on pre-season aircraft maintenance in the hangar with my fellow Turb Team buddies made for a great excuse to catch up and talk aviation.

Wearing five layers and a beanie hat to keep warm, I got involved with oil changes, adjusting the valves and compression tests. I've always loved tinkering with engines and essential maintenance is not only part of being an air display team but also helps my knowledge for commentary.

I lived up to my reputation as chief cake baker by serving homemade Victoria sponge cake at the end of the afternoon. We enjoyed tea and cake in the cosy Mess Room hosted by the lovely twins who look after us at Stow Maries Aerodrome, Europe's best surviving Great War Aerodrome.

Next Saturday is our spit and polish day where we may even get some of the aircraft airborne too. Now it's time for homemade veggie curry and a long soak in a hot bath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.