Light & sight

By CameronDP

Fly away

So I recently decided to sell my Mac on eBay in order to buy a new model on the same site. I got a reasonably good price for the old one and away it went - but the replacement didn't show up. After some misdeliveries and confusion it eventually emerged that the seller had sent me…a padded envelope. Yes, not a Macintosh: an envelope. I had been scammed. Cue multiple phone calls to eBay and PayPal. I will get my money back next week, but in the meantime they insist on going through the rigmarole of sending the money to the scammer, freezing it so they can't access it for a few days, and then sending it back to me . Meanwhile, after yet more retrospectively I'll-advised fishing around on eBay, I found another vendor selling the same model for much the same price. Feeling the need for caution in the circumstances, I sent them a polite message asking for another photo of the Mac next to a note showing their username - to prove they really had the item. They responded by sending me a rude message and blocking me: the first time I've ever been blocked by a seller in well over a decade of using eBay. So I still have no Mac but now I do have a headache....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.