Messy Job!

Today has been satisfying as we achieved a goal, after much hard work! As a result, after 9 months I have my old cooker back. It was one of the last things to be moved up here in July last year, as Jon was using it up to the last week or so. Once up here, it went into the garage. We had a cooker already, which was adequate, but I had always wanted mine back. 

A beautiful sunny day was exactly what I needed. The cooker was record-breakingly filthy. I should be ashamed. I should have cleaned it before it was moved. I didn't. However, for a self cleaning oven, it should be ashamed of itself!  it's had 9 months sitting in that garage, and not one bit of it is clean!

Jon maneuvered the washing machine, then the freezer to get to the cooker, all living in the garage. Once on the patio, I got to work. It took me all day. ALL DAY. I literally had a short break to sow a few more seeds, and give my hands a break, then got back to cleaning. Not perfect, but a much safer clean, we then manhandled it into the kitchen, and Jon wired it in for me. For someone who hates cooking, and general kitchen stuff, it is amazing how happy I am. I suppose it is the feeling of getting another little bit of my old life back. So anyway, all good. I've cooked a very nice roast pork dinner, which Henry proclaimed to be the best ever!!

Meanwhile, life has gone on around me. In the photo, I took to the sunny spot down by the summer house and chickens. Henry filled all the bird feeders, did a little service on his bicycle, then later went out for a ride with Jon on the back of Jon's motorbike. They went all the way to Cley, via Sheringham and home via Holt. 

Mollie meanwhile spent the afternoon in a very busy Cromer Pier cafe/bar, learning the ropes for her first shift. I picked her up at 4, walking down to the pier as I was early. As I sat on one of the benches along the edge of the pier waiting for her to come out, I looked down the pier and up at the hotel, church and other buildings along the front. I thought what a great place for your first part time job. The views, the atmosphere, a busy, fun, exciting place to be.

Just had an early bath as I like the Antiques Roadshow. Looking forward to a relaxing evening.

Extra photo is my cooker in place!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.