METROCENTRE, GATESHEAD.

Had a free ticket for a preview screening of the film Eddie The Eagle  at The Metrocentre.  Due to Sunday buses being few and far between I had to walk down to the village to get a bus at 9am - reaching the Metrocentre at 9.10am.  Cinema doors were due to open at 10am so I had time to kill.  Wandered around the malls. Hardly anyone about. The escalators weren't even switched on.  Some parts were still in darkness. It was a bit creepy and weird. My blip shot shows the deserted  Village area.  My extra shots show just how empty the malls were.  I have also added a shot of the lovely poppy installation. The cinema complex was busy when I got there - think there is a Kids Club on Sunday mornings.

The film was very good.  A real feel good experience. It told the story of British skier Eddie Edwards who in 1988 became the first competitor to represent Great Britain in Olympic ski jumping. Eddie was no match for the other Olympians who took part in the event but he was brave - some would say foolhardy.  He made the jump and proved the doubters wrong.

The film finished at 12.15pm and afterwards I got the shuttle bus over to Asda.  I stocked up with fruit and cat food.

The weather today has been lovely.  Sunny and mild. 

Steps today - 11,725 ( helped by all that wandering around the empty malls )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.