Cecil Peak

Boy it was cold first thing this morning and the cloud was low over Lake Wakatipu as we walked down into Queenstown to pick up the footpath to Ben Lomond. It was interesting to start with, not very visible on the ground but then it picked up and we were joined by a young couple Kayleigh and Marino who were good company up to the Saddle where I decided to call it a day at 1300m as the final pull to the top would have taken an extra hour and was very steep, not good on my knees.
Tony continued with Kayleigh and Marino whilst I retraced our steps as the cloud started to burn off and the view grow more interesting. I took a detour to get a view of Queenstown from another peak and then picked up the path which took me to the top gondola station where all the zip wire, luge, mountain biking, Bungy action was happening. After a cuppa and a very tasty chocolate eclair and some blipping from the viewing platform, I found the Tiki Trail down through the forest and emerged at the bottom of the holiday camp street, excellent planning. Now laundry and shower are done and Tony has just returned having taken the gondola down the mountain. My blip is taken from the Ben Lomond track looking across the lake to Cecil Peak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.