A SWEET DUO

The day started rather cold. I did feed the birds, but did not venture to go in the garden. Just reading my books in the morning.
When Piet Hein asked me, what plan I had for the walk in the afternoon, I suggested to go to Wülmersen, and walk from there along the Diemel to Deisel. A walk we had not ever done. I suggested that we would keep at the sunsight and out of the cold wind.
When we arrived at the exit for Wülmersen, I saw a dead animal lying in the shoulder, almost on the road. I thought it was a raccoon and we stopped for a moment. We drove a bit further, then stopped again, stepped out and walked back to look and decide what to do about it.
Coming nearer Piet Hein thought it was a little wild boar, but seeing the head I knew it was a badger.
So strange in all the years we live hear, we never have seen such an animal, and now suddenly we find a dead one. Driven over by a motorcar.
We decided to give the badger a better resting place. Piet Hein lifted the animal up, found out how heavy the poor beast was. He moved her/him and not yet satisfied with it, moved the body even more and now it rests under some dead wood, much lower on the slope.
I have taken a picture of course.
Our path, a former Railway track,  meandered with the river Diemel till we came near Deisel. From there we took a path that went higher up the hill, and lead us in the forest.
At the highest point of the mountain, there was a very steep path towards the river. We thought that would be the Diemel, but to our surprise we recognised it as the Holzape. We sat on a bench, pondering about our experiences.
Following the Holzape we arrived again at Wülmersen, where this stream reaches the Diemel. And our walk ended there. It had been a nice walk, although the weather could have been better.

My haiku:

A bitter ending
For the poor badger too soon
Her life was over

And the proverb:

Hand over head.

(= recklessly)

c. 1440  Bone Florence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.