The Glendhu Bay Track

We took to the bikes this morning and headed out west along the coastal track of Lake Wanaka, destination Glendhu Bay. Is there a stretch of coastline in New Zealand which doesn't have beautiful views?  We had mountains across the lake all the way and, on our side, wonderful bays and hills to our left.  The track was in reasonably good shape although there was the odd scary drop off or sharp turn or sudden uphill so there was quite a bit of pushbiking in places as well as uncontrolled downhills!  I stopped one bay short of Glendhu and had a paddle and blipped arty farty driftwood on the shore whilst Tony gamely completed the Glendhu quest.
I think we passed barely half a dozen folks in several hours!
On the return ride I spotted a sign saying excellent coffee was on hand and so we turned up a path through a manicured lawn straight to the door of a very posh hotel.  They made us very welcome in our dusty apparel and so we stayed for a very fine lunch.  I must admit I was tempted to upload my halloumi dish with bikes and Lake Wanaka and mountains in the background but I think this blip of Tony on our return ride to Wanaka represents another good day in New Zealand!
fine lunch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.