fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Durham Cathedral

I unhesitatingly gave Durham my vote for best cathedral on planet Earth.

(Bill Bryson, Notes from a Small Island)


Previously I have blipped the Sanctuary Knocker, and an angel from the cloisters of the cathedral, but until now I haven't blipped the building itself. This shot is taken looking north from St Aidan's College.

The cathedral was built to mark the resting place of St Cuthbert, but St Bede is also buried there. It is a stunning building both inside and out. This video is quite a good introduction to the history and architecture of the building, but experiencing it first hand is something else entirely. Most people find it a deeply spiritual place, whatever their background or beliefs. Unlike many cathedrals there is no entrance fee, and it continues to be much more than a museum.

These words are written above Bede's tomb, and I think they are so beautiful (NB- 'saints' refers to all of Christ's followers, not just those who have been beatified):

Christ is the morning star, who when the night
Of this world is past brings to his saints
The promise of the light of life & opens everlasting day.
(The Venerable Bede)


____________________________________

Apologies to all - I'm getting so behind on commenting. I'm hoping to catch up tomorrow as I'm planning a lazy day due to a mega sore throat :o(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.