"The Meaning of Life is to See."

Dear Diary,

Finally, I have my first year of posts bound into two volumes.  It is so exciting to see it finished and to be able to sit and flip through the pages day by day.  I chose the quote above as the title since it really is what motivates me everyday to photograph.  I also made a collage of images for the title page and choosing just a dozen from 365 was very difficult.

I have to make a permanent slipcase for the two volumes.  The blue one above is just a temporary one I made yesterday to keep them clean.  I will also add headbands and ribbon markers to finish them off but the important part, the binding, was beautifully done by a professional binder.  I had hope to have this done ages ago.  In less than a month my second year will be done and will need binding!  How time flies.

I have tried in recent weeks to cut back on my on-line time.  It was consuming way  too much of my day but creating this journal day by day is something I love doing. Something that has become an important ritual in my life.  To me, the journal has three facets...the artistic, the historical and the personal.  Years from now it will be wonderful to sit with my books and walk back through my life.  Each page is a small memory held together with paper and ink and after all that is what it is all about, Memories4Me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.