Breaking Open

Dear Diary,

The little pond down the road from me is finally beginning to open up.  Winter is loosening its grip and cracks are forming.  I found this little patch of open water and loved the way the clouds were reflected and that tiny patch of blue sky revealed.  It was a very hopeful sight.

Some of the ponds are completely open water now but not Little Clemons.  Because it is surrounded by hills, it doesn't get the full sun of the other ponds.  It is slow to awaken from its winter nap.

It has turned a lot colder now and there are whispers of snow for Sunday night but I know that if it does snow it won't last.  Spring officially arrives on Monday and I remember reading that a spring snow was good for the farmers, adding valuable nitrogen to the soil but only if the ground was no longer frozen.  Then the nitrogen would be absorbed and be there to benefit plants.

So, bring it on!  I won't think of a bit of snow as a nuisance but a blessing for my garden.  How is that for a "glass half full" philosophy!  I am just so pleased that we will soon be entering the gardening season that a little spring snow doesn't faze me a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.