A Steeple Chase

Dear Diary,

I adore church steeples!  There, I’ve said it.  Although they are not easy to photograph occasionally I get a good image of one.  This one is in Bridgton, Maine.  It is the Congregational Church and both the church and the steeple are in wonderful condition.

There is, of course, the obvious metaphor of a finger pointing heavenward but I think the New England church steeple really was so much more to the people who lived in the town.  It was a focal point for the community and many served as meeting places for town functions early on.

The annual Town Meeting is a March event here in Maine.  My town had theirs yesterday.  It is a perfect example of pure democracy that is fast disappearing across the country.  They are also quite interesting to attend and I’ve attended many over the years.

Church steeples would be a great photographic series were I so inclined.  I will just be content to record them when I can and marvel at their beauty and simplicity.  This post also makes me chuckle.  The pun I used as a title would make my former student’s eyes roll.  I was forever subjecting them to puns and old sayings.  My favorite one in the latter category always elicited a groan….”I was born at night but it wasn’t last night.”  This was always in response to some dubious statement on their part.  It still makes me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.