Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sheesh!

Major wind gusts today, wreaking havoc with even the perfectly coiffed titmice!  So much wind that my friend and I decided against stalking owls today, putting it off to next week.  Managing long lenses in high winds is usually a recipe for trouble and we think the owlets would probably be hunkered down and not visible anyway.  So, the ever-reliable Tufted Titmouse blip to the rescue!

As Hubs and I were eating breakfast this morning, I glanced out the window in time to see a beautiful Eastern Bluebird perch briefly on a bare branch not far from the window - long enough for me to grab the camera (which was right behind me, luckily) and get off one decent shot.  I remain hopeful that we will have bluebirds tenants in one of our boxes this summer - this is certainly the most activity I can recall, so hopefully...

Three shots on Flickr, starting HERE with the bluebird.  Middle shot was my attempt to capture some very interesting aggression behavior from a pair of chickadees who were trying to run off a third.  And, finally, a very close close-up of a nuthatch.  

Thanks for the stars and hearts on yesterday's spidery daffodil - and apologies to the arachnaphobes out there.  I used to be horribly afraid of spiders, but photography  (and Blip) have successfully cured me of most of my fear.  I could not have taken that photo a couple of years ago.  

After all of our lovely mild weather, it looks like Mother Nature may be preparing a little laugh at our expense on Sunday - the forecast right now is calling for 1-8 inches of snow - which means that we could get none or lots.   As a precaution, I'll be covering up some of the flowering bulbs in the garden tomorrow, as well as the primroses.  The storm is apparently moving erratically so the forecast is changing by the hour - we'll just wait and see what happens.  Hey ho.

Not much else to report from the Lane today...

TTFN,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.