Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Red...and white

I consider myself quite fortunate to have these showy birds (Northern Cardinals) in my yard all year long.  At this time of year, heading into the breeding season, their plumage is at its finest, brilliant red with a bit of black trim.  They are definitely show-stealers.  And put them on a blanket of fresh white snow...well, how could I resist?

I very nearly managed to get the red fox in the snow today, too, as s/he showed up while I was out with my camera.  Unfortunately, he was in a brushy part of our property and I wasn't all that happy with the view.  But if you'd like to have a look, I'll pop a shot in Extra.

If finally started snowing around 5 this afternoon and we got just a little dusting.  Frankly, I'm happy with that as I wasn't looking forward to any more shoveling.  

The Cooper's Hawk was back today and still unsuccessful in her attempt to catch something.  She's a mature adult, so I have to assume she's developed sufficient hunting skills to survive, but still... I worry.  

I was very tired today - slept long last night and ended up having a nap today which isn't like me.  But sometimes the body just tells you what it needs.  I'm off to cook up some steelhead trout for dinner along with some smashed potatoes and broccoli.  

Having MIL over for a few hours tomorrow and supper/tea.  She'll enjoy it, as will we.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.