Post-op Selfie

Had to be done for the journal record - with apologies to the squeamish.

I'm putting this up from home, two days after the crash, and actually feeling fine apart from a bit of blurry vision. Bizarrely, a day on from surgery I felt quite fine when I took this. One fracture above the eye was plated and held together with twelve screws, a fracture of the cheekbone was clean and well-aligned and is being left in the hope it will heal itself. I've seen the X-rays, which were quite fascinating. 

I've been looked after by a wonderful team of people at the LGI, all completely lovely, porters, nurses, doctors and trainees alike. It was almost a shame to have to say goodbye this evening! As far as I can tell, on the ground at least, the NHS is doing a grand job.

Despite appearances, I'm fine. There is no need to worry about me. Full and proper disclosure of events tomorrow in a backblip! I'm going to do as I'm told for once and get some good rest!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.