In The Best Hands

I'm feeling a little bit guilty now for misleading people as to the cause of my injuries. I hadn't intended the joke to go on so long. Following my eldest's mischievous post on FB, I couldn't resist having a bit of fun myself. I do believe I'm capable of talking myself out of literally any confrontational situation with my photography - so that scenario I described in jest was highly unlikely. Those who have followed me here a while know that I occasionally lie through my teeth, and also recognised that this was indeed all due to coming off the bike.

I have absolutely no recollection of what happened. I think I just overcooked a bend on a greasy road surface after not having ridden much recently. My first recollection is of being lifted on to a stretcher. I must have been unconscious for quite some time. I have vague memories of the ambulance ride to Leeds, and then of undergoing an MRI scan, revealing some head fractures and some minor bleeding into the brain. I started to come around quite quickly after being moved to a bed in a ward. I was told they would operate as soon as they could next morning. 

The nurses taking care of me were highly amused that my biggest concern was getting my blips for the day. My camera was thankfully intact and I had a bit of fun snapping from the bed. The nurses were very obliging, if a little reluctant at first, although Sanha here was very enthusiastic and volunteered to pose with me! Trevor, my surgeon, was actually very reluctant but I really gave him no choice. The only other guy in the room with me, in the opposite bed, had been most impressed with my bedside manner!

After surgery I was feeling actually quite perky. Once again, I can only offer the greatest praise for everyone who has helped me in the last few days. We should really have no doubts about the quality of our public services and the fantastic people that serve us when we truly do need them. Thank you one and all - including all you lovely people in blipland who have left messages. I hope you'll forgive me for my fun! And excuse me if I don't get back to you personally. The vision isn't quite back to normal yet and I'm trying to reduce time at the computer as much as I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.