a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Gotcha!

Finally!  

I've been mentioning for a while that we've had a woodpecker visiting the feeders, but that every time I raise a lens toward it, it flies away.  I was beginning to despair of ever getting a shot of the nervous bird, and I suspect that some of you may perhaps, have been wondering if he even existed?

Fortunately today I managed to squeeze of a couple of shots before he disappeared.  Its been very dark here today with no sunshine and plenty of low cloud.  If there had been time I would have reduced the shutter speed and selected a higher ISO.  As it was, it was simply a question of select shutter priority aim and click.  But even so, its not a bad result, and my first woodpecker blip - hurrah!

----

Many thanks to you kind folks for your nice comments, stars and even hearts for yesterday's blip of St Mary Redcliffe. Some very helpful suggestions too, on things I might do differently which I do appreciate. Of course, blip is about more than just photography and I understand entirely that the sort of technical criticism that you get in other forums is generally not encouraged. But I am trying to improve my photographic skills, and am pleased to receive suggestions as to what I might want to think about trying to do differently next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.