Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A perfect day for a birthday

Today is Luke's 20th birthday. And this is what the obstetrician said to me 20 years ago when I went for my checkup, one day after work - 'Tomorrow is the 20th of March, I think that's a perfect day for a birthday'. In reality he did not want to alarm me but my placenta had started calcifying and consequently my baby was not growing so he decided to do a Caesarean section the very next day (the baby was also breech and would not turn) and so Luke was born 3 weeks early, a tiny 2.7kg baby - looking at him today you would not think he started life so small!

Today was indeed a perfect day for a birthday - warm sunshine, endless blue skies, and as Luke chose to spend the day skiing there was also perfect snow and plenty of it, with no crowds as it is still out of peak season. The boys were skiing in T shirts under their ski jackets and were still too warm! We had a very good day skiing together and I even managed  a steep (mainly black) run back down to the village.

A quiet evening in tonight, my legs will probably need it after today!

An extra of Luke and Adam on the chairlift (with some random person in the middle!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.